Skip to content


PEARC21 Awards

The PEARC21 conference continues the tradition to recognize high-quality submissions. Below you will find the PEARC21 Award winners in different categories. Congratulations!

Phil Andrews Award

The Phil Andrews award is granted to a manuscript deemed to be the most impactful in practice of research computing, broadly interpreted to encompass all areas in scientific research, technical innovation, state of practice and workforce development. Determination of the award is made by a combination of reviewer recommendations, track chair/co-chair recommendations, and an Awards committee jury selecting from the best papers awarded in all tracks.

Phil Andrews award winner
Ensemble Prediction of Job Resources to Improve System Performance for Slurm-Based HPC Systems

Authors: Mohammed Tanash, Huichen Yang, Daniel Andresen and William Hsu

About the Phil Andrews award

This award is offered in memory of Phil Andrews who was a pioneer in advanced computing infrastructure for more than 25 years, Phil brought tremendous passion and creative energy to NICS, PSC, SDSC, TeraGrid and XSEDE. With degrees in physics, mathematics, and plasma physics from Cambridge, Purdue, and Princeton Universities. He was experienced in artificial intelligence, visualization, archiving, digital libraries, and computational medicine. During his career, Andrews authored approximately 40 papers on distributed and data-intensive computing and visualization techniques, theoretical plasma physics and nonlinear dynamics.

Best Full Paper Awards

 The award winners were selected by a  combination of reviewer recommendations, track chair/co-chair recommendations, and an Awards committee jury. The juries deemed the winning manuscripts to be comprehensively well rounded, present a novel concept or apply existing concepts in a compelling manner, advance the state of practice, and to be of very high quality overall.

Applications and Software track winner
Practice Guideline for Heavy I/O Workloads with Lustre File Systems on TACC Supercomputers
Authors: Si Liu, Lei Huang, Hang Liu, Amit Ruhela, Virginia Trueheart, Susan Lindsey and Quan Yuan

Systems and Systems Software track winner
Ensemble Prediction of Job Resources to Improve System Performance for Slurm-Based HPC Systems 
Authors: Mohammed Tanash, Huichen Yang, Daniel Andresen and William Hsu

Workforce Development, Training, Diversity, & Education track winner
Assessing the Landscape of Research Computing and Data Support 
Authors: Patrick Schmitz

Best Short Paper Awards

Applications and Software track winner 

Integrity Protection for Research Artifacts using Open Science Chain’s Command Line Utility
Authors: Manu Shantharam, Kai Lin, Scott Sakai, and Subhashini Sivagnanam

Systems and Systems Software track winner 
Scalable Cloud-based Architecture to Deploy JupyterHub for Computational Social Science Research
Authors: Da Li, Robert Pyke and Runchao Jiang

Workforce Development, Training, Diversity, & Education track winner
The Connect.Cyberinfrastructure Portal – Creating Opportunities for Collaboration and Cohesion in the Research Computing Ecosystem
Authors: Julie Ma, Torey Battelle, Eric Brown, Dana Brunson, Thomas Cheatham, John Goodhue, James Griffioen, Shelley Knuth, Timothy Middelkoop, Kaylea Nelson, Andrew Sherman, Scott Valcourt, Dhruva Chakravorty, Christopher Simmons, Douglas Jennewein, Sarah Akbar, Ermal Toto, Julia Sheats and Bj Lougee

Visualization Showcase Award

Best Visualization Showcase winner 

Effects of Blowing and Suction on the Turbulent Flow Around an Airfoil  
Authors: Wiebke Köpp, Marco Atzori, Mohamad Rezaei, Niclas Jansson, Ricardo Vinuesa, Erwin Laure, Philipp Schlatter and Tino Weinkauf.

Poster Awards

Best Poster winner 
Comparing GPU Effectiveness for Unifrac Distance Compute
Authors: Igor Sfiligoi, Rob Knight, Daniel McDonald, Tom DeFanti, Frank Würthwein, John Graham and Dima Mishin 

Best Student Poster winner 
Integrative Design and Processing for Environment IoT and Microscopy Visualization
Authors: Ribhav Jain, Steven Konstanty, Todd Nicholson, Zhe Yang, Patrick Su, Robert Kaufman and Klara Nahrstedt

Hackathon Awards

The Hackathon Organizing committee would like to thank our mentors, staff and sponsors for making this event a success. Intel, SGCI, Omnibond, TACC, XSEDE, PEARC and Google Cloud provided resources, registration fees and prizes for the hackathon. Six teams competed this year for the People’s Choice and Judges Choice Awards.

Viewer’s Choice Award
Team Render Benders
Students: Ayomide Olatunde, Christopher Metellus, Jean-Pierre Bianchi, Jin Wei Liu
Mentors: Christopher Lanclos, Rich Asay
Team Goal: Take data mapping coordinates of carbon molecules in nanotubes and render a 3D model of arrangement

Judges’ Choice Award
Team Valiant Vaccinators
Students: Jasmine Trapier, Abhi Vinnakota, Nia Blake
Mentors: James Belton, Rebecca Caldwell, Munene Kanampiu
Team Goal: To explore the correlation between Covid19 vaccination and death rates in the United States